Savage set to lead Schenectady Legislature to 2010

Farley said he would try to work with the majority Democrats, but that changes need to be made, especially when it comes to taxes. "We will continue to work with whoever is elected chair," said Farley. "But, this county is in need of substantial changes. It needs to be more friendly to the taxpayer, and the current government has not been friendly."

Two new members will officially join the Legislature on New Year's Day: Jeffrey McDonald, D-Schenectady, who won the District 2 election in November, and Angelo Santabarbara, R-Rotterdam, who will represent District 4. McDonald replaces the seat left vacant by Edward J. Kosiur, D-Schenectady, and Santabarbara takes over for Carolina M. Lazzari, R-Duanesburg.

Both will be sworn in at the organizational meeting at 4 p.m. Wednesday, Jan. 1, on the sixth floor of the County Office Building on State Street in Schenectady.


Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment