After the opening of the Erie Canal in 1825, the entire Albany/Arbor Hill area grew rapidly, thanks to a thriving lumbering business at the terminus of the canal.
In 1848, Thomas Worth Olcott purchased the mansion and his descendants resided there until 1948 when they deeded the structure to the ACHA to insure its preservation as a historic house/museum open to the public.
The Olcotts " father and son " collected wines, which included a rare variety of French Bordeaux wines plus varietals from extinct grapes, lost to blight. In 1970, one valuable wine bottle was discovered " the one that provided sufficient funds to repair the roof and the 18th -century brickwork.
On a tour, visitors can observe 13 rooms on three floors, plus three bathrooms and granite fixtures.
Kastan said the mansion's fine furnishings reflect the style and the best of local craftsmanship that would have been found in homes of wealthy families in mid-19th century.
In a sense, viewing portraits of some members of the Ten Broeck clan and other notables of the time period done by local artists of the era, provides a dose of realistic ambience to any visit.
A tour of the mansion enables a visitor to sense the life and furniture of a prosperous family during the city's Colonial period.
For information about tours, call 436-9826.
Beginning in May, the regular tour schedule is Thursdays and Fridays, 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.; Saturdays and Sundays 1 p.m. to 4 p.m. Admission is $5 for adults; $4 for seniors and students; and $3 for children 12 and under.
The Ten Broeck Mansion is located at 9 Ten Broeck Place in Albany. ""