Cunningham elected to full term in Bethlehem

Democrat Paul Dwyer won another term as town justice defeating Dan Persing with 62 percent of the vote. Republican incumbent Kathy Newkirk was a victor over Denis Foley with 56 percent of the vote to Foley's 44 percent. Republican Nancy Mendick won re-election as town receiver of taxes over Patti Parsons by a vote of 5474 for Mendick to 3496 for Parsons.

In the races for county legislator affecting Bethlehem voters it was Democrat Thomas Cotrofeld over Jared King in the 34th district with Cotrofeld unofficially receiving 1215 votes to King's 769 with 29 out of 30 districts reporting.

"I am very honored voters in the Town of Bethlehem have enough confidence in me to be there advocate in the legislature," said Cotrofeld who pledged to work hard on this years county budget and to move forward on a rail trail for the town of Bethlehem.

In the 35th district county seat Charles Dawson defeated Mitch Goldstein with a total of 1651 votes for Dawson to 896 for Goldstein.

Democrat Howard Shafer was leading Richard Mendick in the race for 36th district legislator with 758 votes for Shafer to 729 votes for Mendick with one district left to report. Dorsey the Independence candidate had 130 votes.

Michael Breslin easily won another term as Albany County executive defeating challenger Roger Cusick.

"I want to thank all the people who worked so hard on my campaign and all the county workers," said Breslin. "We accomplished a lot, but I am looking forward to the coming challenges".


Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment