TROY: Eagles use depth to win swim title

"That was just outstanding," Gross said of Powhida. "Bethany has been coming on strong for a while, and then last January on (Delmar) Dol-phins, she did some things that opened some eyes."

Lily Powell also won an individual event for Bethlehem. The sophomore took first place in the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:01.47, less than a tenth of a second ahead of Shaker's Sara Mion.

"Lily had gone that fast in March (with the Dolfins), but she had struggled a bit during the (high school) season," said Gross. "She was whining, 'I'm not going as fast as last year,' and I told her, 'Don't worry about it. You'll be fine.'"

Shen's Andrea Krok and Kelsey Barbour rounded out the list of individual champions at the Division I meet. Krok won the 1-meter diving competition with a score of 488.65 points, while Barbour took first place in the 100 breaststroke in a time of 1:07.95.

Shen also won two of the three relay events. The 200 freestyle relay team of Barbour, Zebrowski, Deborah Korzun and Olivia Samson took first place in a time of 1:40.97, more than two seconds ahead of runner-up Shaker, and the 400 freestyle relay team of Samson, Barbour, Zebrowski and Caitlin Salerno finished first in a time of 3:40.43.

Saratoga's 200 medley relay team of Callesano, Sloane, Allison Walker and Kathleen Rice won its event in a time of 1:55.50.

The race for the Division II (small school) team title was much closer, as Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake edged Queensbury by one point for first place. BH-BL finished with 388 points despite not having one individual champion, while Queensbury had 387 points.

Niskayuna's Karoline Hart was the Division II most outstanding swimmer after winning two individual titles. The senior took first place in the 50 freestyle with a time of 25.09 seconds and won the 100 breaststroke in a time of 1:08.20.

Hart was also part of two winning Niskayuna relay teams. Hart joined Emily Whitaker, Kerry Archer and McKenna Murphy on the first-place 200 freestyle relay team (1:42.40) and then teamed up with Whitaker, Murphy and Rachele Marra to win the 400 freestyle relay in a time of 3:44.89.

Whitaker and Murphy each won individual events for the Silver Warriors. Whitaker took first place in the 200 freestyle in a time of 1:58.37, and Murphy finished first in the 100 butterfly with a time of 1:00.33.""

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment