Town posts filled

"Although these two have excellent backgrounds, we should consider making one new appointment and reconsider Gil Brookins for the other slot," said Messina, who added that Brookins could serve a one-year term for continuity.

That option was turned down because of municipal law stating ZBA members are to serve a term of five years.

"I am not sure we have the authority to change the term of five years," said board member Kyle Kotary.

DeCancio and Watson were also approved by a 4-to-1 vote.

Other appointments include Nicholas A. Behuniak as a member of the town planning board and Jacqueline Conti, who will serve on the board of assessment review. James Potter was reappointed as town attorney and Josh Cansler accepted the appointment of public works commissioner. George Leveille will remain as director of economic development and planning. Parker Mathusa will also stay as planning board chairman with Michael Hodom serving as ZBA chair.""

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment