Bethlehem school district, library votes near

The budget represents a 2.26 percent tax levy increase over last year's, with a majority of the proposed budget " $2.07 million " for salaries.

Overall, the proposed budget has increased 2.1 percent over the current budget.

The estimated tax levy increase from the proposed library budget is $1.23 for Bethlehem residents and $1.21 for New Scotland residents. All of the library's figures are based on $1,000 per assessed home value.

There are two candidates running for the library's Board of Trustees.

John Sobiecki, who is currently on the board serving the unfinished term of a former member, and Nancy Smith will both be on the ballot on Tuesday, May 20.

Sobiecki is senior project director with Einhorn Yaffee Prescott Architecture and Engineering in Albany, and he was originally appointed to the board in 2006 to complete an unexpired term.

He is a member of the Historic Albany Foundation and the Eastern New York chapter of the American Institute of Architects. Sobiecki is actively involved in the community and has been a Bethlehem resident for 17 years.

Smith has been a school library media specialist in the Bethlehem Central School District since 1986. She has been an active member of the Elsmere parent-teacher association for 22 years and served on many district curriculum committees. She has been a strong advocate for the district's school libraries during that time.

In 2006, she served on the library's Plan of Service committee and is a 20-year resident of the town.

Voting on this year's budgets will be held at Bethlehem Central High School " not Bethlehem Central Middle School as in recent years " in the school's upper gym through the main entrance of the building.

The high school, located at 700 Delaware Ave., offers more parking and improved building access, according to Loomis. Voters will park in the Delaware Avenue parking lot and use the building's main entrance, which faces Delaware Avenue.

There will be several activities taking place throughout the day at the school and any resident aged 18 or older can vote, regardless of their voter registration status.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. on Tuesday, May 20.""

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment