Residents protest Selkirk Bypass

Councilman Kyle Kotary thanked Evans for her comments and reiterated Cunningham's comments.

"We are looking at one of the options on how to avoid a route that goes through a lot of green space and potential preservation land," Kotary told Evans. "I wanted you to know my personal commitment to looking at all of those options."

Kotary said the town is always looking for ways to protect and preserve green space, but that they "have a ways to go."

"On behalf of the people who signed the petition we urge you not to approve this 'preferred route', and to rather consider the economic advantages of keeping the space green," Evans said. "This is why the CACC Advisory Committee was created, and CACC has not been heard from. Most of those who signed the petition feel that there was never an open and fair process by which this route was selected as 'preferred. The only sense in which this route was 'preferred' was by the planners."

The petition was submitted by residents Anthony DeLuca; Stephen Downs; Lisa Evans; Eugene Hoffert; Appleton Mason III; Dawn Pratt; William Weisheit; Harry Wilbur; and Stephen Wiley, many of who were in attendance at the time.""

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment