Town board vacancy to be filled

Glenville Town Supervisor elect Republican Chris Koetzle and the members of the incoming Town Board have selected Gina Wierzbowski to replace Koetzle on the town board as he takes the supervisor's chair on Jan.1, 2010.

\Gina is a perfect choice for this board seat. She is deeply involved in this community and she brings a unique perspective to the team that will be very helpful to us, said Koetzle of the selection in a press release on Dec. 6. "Her knowledge of the issues impressed us throughout the selection process and her passion to serve this community was compelling."

The board will vote on the resolution to appoint Wierzbowski to the town board on Jan. 6, 2010. If the resolution passes, Wierzbowski will be sworn in and will begin her service to the town immediately. As an appointed member of the town board, she will have to run for re-election in November of 2010 and again in 2011, when the term she is taking over for Koetzle is set to expire.

"I am honored and excited to have been chosen to fill the Town Board seat and feel strongly that with the new leadership we have in place now, Glenville is poised to become an even better place to live, work and raise a family," said Wierzbowski in a statement.

Wierzbowski was among 11 other prospective candidates who sent in resumes for the open seat on the Glenville town board. Other candidates included former County Legislature candidates Republicans Tim Macfarlane and Kurt Semon and present town board member Val Digiandomenico, who ran as a write-in candidate in the 2009 election.

"We had a great slate of candidates, but Gina was our overwhelming choice and we look forward to welcoming her to the team," said Koetzle in a statement. "She shares our views on open government, responsible economic growth, and the need to lower taxes and spending while preserving services. She's going to be great for the town."

In the 2009 election, Koetzle defeated sitting town board supervisor Frank Quinn, while Republican running mates Sid Ramotar and Alan Boulant defeated incumbent Democrat Edward Rosenburg and first-time Democratic candidate Catherine Bern-Smith for the open town board seats. Boulant and Ramotar will join Democrat Mark Quinn on the town board in January, 2010.""

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment