Republican chairman up for town board seat in Rotterdam

Former Rotterdam Republican Town Committee Chair Gerard Parisi has been recommended by the Republican Committee members to fill the vacant seat on the Rotterdam Town Board created by the resignation of Micheal Della Villa on Tuesday, Dec. 22, 2009.

\The executive committee had interviewed several individuals to potentially fill the vacant seat, including myself, but overwhelmingly felt that Mr. Parisi has the right experience and knowledge to sit as the lone Republican on the Town Board, according to a letter from Rotterdam Republican Town Committee Chair Attilio Tebano. The letter also stated that the committee feels that a large amount of false information was asserted against the Republican candidates in the 2009 election and the prior Republican administration in regards to the Rotterdam IDA and accusations about raising taxes and that Parisi is knowledgeable in these areas to address any false accusations. "Mr. Parisi has the first-hand knowledge and background to be able to quickly and honestly address these comments and any further false assertions. He will also work diligently to do what is right for the town and its future," according to Tebano's letter.

The committee unanimously carried support of recommending Parisi to fill the vacant seat with a vote of 29-0, according to the letter.

During the 2009 election, in a letter to Democratic Committee Chair Bill Cooke, Parisi stated that the Democrat town supervisor candidate, Frank Del Gallo, was illiterate, according to anonymous sources. "Several people have claimed/alleged that he may not be able to read or write," wrote Parisi in an Oct. 12 letter to Cooke. "The town is a complex operation. I hope this is not the case."

Cooke responded in a letter that in light of comments from Parisi that the Democratic candidates would not debate during the election.

Since the election, Del Gallo and his running mates have been elected to take the place of Republican Town Supervisor Steve Tommasone and Republican Town board councilmen Joseph Signore, John Mertz who ran under the banner of the No New tax Party, and Stanley Marchinkowski, who ran as a member of the Independence party. Democrats Matthew Martin, Nicola DiLeva and Robert Godlewski will take their seats on Jan. 1.

On Dec. 30, the sitting town board will hold a meeting to decide who will take the place of Della Villa.


Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment