Wall recognizes Schalmont standouts

Schalmont Central School District recently announced this year's Schalmont High School Alumni Wall of Distinction honorees: Gail DeAngelo, Class of 1988; Michael James Mugits, Class of 1971; and David Van Patten, Class of 1972.

They will be inducted during a formal ceremony on Thursday, May 28, at 4:30 p.m. in the Schalmont High School library, 1 Sabre Drive. The ceremony is open to the public and will be followed by a reception.

Wall of Distinction honorees serve as role models for Schalmont students.

Our many highly successful graduates are a tribute both to their individual efforts to succeed and to the teachers who inspired them, Michael Kondratowicz, a member of the selection committee and the principal of Schalmont Middle School, said in a written statement.

"The nominees have encompassed all fields of society," selection committee member Richard Pepe, an English teacher in Schalmont since 1972, said in a statement.

The five other committee members were Sandra Beloncik, member of the Schalmont Board of Education; Chief J. Hamilton, Rotterdam Police Department; Michael Kondratowicz, principal of Schalmont Middle School; Amanda Lawson, a senior at Schalmont High School; and J. Antonio Reyes, Five Corners Family Practice.

Alumni who were nominated for the Wall of Distinction this year and not inducted will be reconsidered by the selection committee next spring, along with any new nominations. They will be notified of their nomination and have the opportunity to submit additional information for consideration.

Visit http://www.schalmont.org/alumni/alumni.htm for more information. ""

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment