Saratoga County teams dominate Suburban Council meet

If Friday's Section II Cross Country Championships go the same way that last weekend's Suburban Council meet went, Saratoga County teams should do very well.

Saratoga Springs ran away with the girls team title, while Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake ended Shenendehowa's reign as league champions on the boys' side at last Saturday's meet at Saratoga Spa State Park.

Saratoga packed its top five runners among the top 10 overall finishers to win the girls team title with 21 points. Shenendehowa was second with 48 points, and BH-BL placed third with 58 points.

Freshman Keelin Hollowood led Saratoga with a first-place finish in a time of 17:27.4. Shenendehowa senior Nicole Irving was second in a time of 17:54.1, while Saratoga's Brianne Bellon finished third in a time of 18:03.5.

On the boys' side, BH-BL placed four runners in the top 11 to defeat Shen 46-69. Shaker took third place with 78 points.

Shen's Dan Harris won the individual title with a time of 15:19.62, two seconds ahead of runner-up Otis Ubriaco of BH-BL. Scott Maughan was third for BH-BL in a time of 15:25.26.

Here are the results from the Suburban Council Championships.


Team standings: Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake 46, Shenendehowa 69, Shaker 78, Ballston Spa 123, Saratoga Springs 129, Niskayuna 157, Colonie 171, Guilderland 195, Bethlehem 205, Averill Park 294, Columbia 302, Mohonasen 347

Top 20 runners: 1. Dan Harris (Shen) 15:19.62; 2. Otis Ubriaco (BH-BL) 15:21.80; 3. Scott Maughan (BH-BL) 15:25.26; 4. Ryan Egan (Shaker) 15:32.53; 5. Kyle Wegner (Sara) 15:43.30; 6. Max Groves (BS) 15:44.91; 7. Sean Pezzulo (BH-BL) 15:51.86; 8. Dave Marthy (Shaker) 15:54.79; 9. Mitch Todorov (Shen) 15:58.49; 10. Ian Dorset (Shen) 15:59.07

11. Chris Fernandez (BH-BL) 16:00.12; 12. Erich Voelker (Colo) 16:02.98; 13. Chris Collier (BC) 16:06.67; 14. Mike Libruk (Shaker) 16:09.19; 15. Jon Vallecorsa (Shaker) 16:11.95; 16. Sam Place (Sara) 16:15.13; 17. Jake Flynt (BS) 16:18.23; 18. Ed Brown (Colo) 16:20.77; 19. Ryan McTague (Nisky) 16:23.91; 20. Sam Kimmey (Shen) 16:26.92

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment