Primaries bring in new blood to Rotterdam

Rotterdam residents came out for the primaries on Tuesday, Sept. 15 and voted in some fresh faces to the scene of Rotterdam Town and county politics.

Outgoing Schenectady County Legislator Joe Suhrada, R-Rotterdam, who is running for one of two open seats on the Rotterdam Town Board, was the highest vote-getter with 512 votes in the Republican primary. Incumbent board member Joseph Signore received the second-highest number of votes 474. Republican incumbent John Mertz, who will appear on the No New Tax Party line, did not receive enough votes to stay on the GOP line.

Michael O'Connor, who received 352 votes, will also be on the Republican line in the November election, vying for a Town Board seat left vacant by Democrat John Silva. O'Connor is also running on the No New Tax Party line.

I'm pleased that the people recognized the hard work that I've done for eight years at the county," said Suhrada. "My desire to serve the town is as great as ever, and I expect that they will see that the Republicans are the real No New Tax Party in town, and I will work with anyone, Republican or Democrat, who is on the board with me, but I certainly will not change my fiscal conservative views."

O'Connor was unavailable for comment, and Signore could not be reached by press time.

Francis DelGallo, who already has the Democratic line in the Rotterdam town supervisor race, bested Republican incumbent Steven Tommasone in the Conservative primary 287-134 votes. Brian McGarry, part of the No New Tax Party line, lost his bid for a spot on the Conservative line with 116 votes.

The two will run against each other in the November election Tommasone was elected to the Rotterdam Town Board in 2003, and has held the position of Rotterdam town supervisor since he was elected in 2005.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment