Spa City inaugurates 2010 city officials

Wirth appointed Frank J. Dudla as his deputy commissioner, citing his previous knowledge and experience within the department as beneficial and encouraging.

Johnson said he would save most of his comments for his State of the City Address later this month, but that the most important thing was to approach the New Year with a renewed attitude and commitment to work collectively as a council.

"With a new year and city council in place, we have new opportunities to put aside any differences and better work together for the best interest of our city I'm confident we can begin to better accomplish the city's business and end the politics of deception," said Johnson, who said with times uncertain it is critical for the council to unite and not divide.

"Today, I pledge to you my best efforts to help lead our city and be a voice of reason. Thanks for your trust, I will not let you down. My door is always open to all of you," said Johnson.

Johnson reappointed his current mayoral staff: Deputy Mayor Shauna Sutton, Executive Assistant Therese Connolly, City Attorney Joseph Scala and Assistant City Attorney Anthony Izzo.

John Franck, commissioner of accounts, used humor to thank the council, former council members and his family for their work and support. He reappointed Michele Boxley as deputy commissioner of accounts.

Commissioner of Finance Ken Ivins reflected on what the council set out to accomplish in the past and vowed to do a better job achieving that this time around.

"We had a lot of plans. Unfortunately the economy kind of took over and made us refocus what we had to do and where we were going. The next few years were filled with trials and tribulation but I promise to do the best I can do to help this city through the storm," said Ivins, who stressed that teamwork will be the key and challenged his fellow council members to join him on the journey.

Kate Jarosh was reappointed as deputy commissioner of finance.

Disagreement, debate and discussion are welcome in 2010, according to Commissioner of Public Works Anthony Scirocco, as long as it's constructive and moves towards a common goal. He appointed Tim Cogan as deputy commissioner to replace Pat Design, who retired.

Saratoga County Supervisors Matthew E. Veitch and Joanne Dittes Yepsen were also sworn in.

The first official meeting of the City Council is Tuesday, Jan. 5 at 7 p.m.


Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment