Ubriaco leads BH-BL boys at Baldwinsville invy

Otis Ubriaco continued his impressive cross country season, but it wasn't enough to put the Burnt Hills-Ballston Lake boys over the top at last Saturday's Baldwinsville Invitational outside Syracuse.

Ubriaco set a course record in winning the boys large school individual title, but his teammates had a hard time keeping pace as Rush-Henrietta won the team title with a tighter pack. The Royal Comets placed their first five runners in the top 15 to finish first with 50 points, 33 points ahead of the Spartans.

Ubriaco cruised to an individual title with a time of 15:01.68, nearly nine seconds ahead of runner-up Matt Johnson of Ithaca. Kevin Terbush (17th, 16:00.52) was the next BH-BL runner across the finish line, followed by Joe Chapman (18th, 16:04.30), Dan Fernandez (23rd, 16:20.24) and Buddy Herkenham (24th, 16:22.37).

The BH-BL girls team went to New Hampshire and placed second at last Saturday's Manchester Invitational. Dani Martino led the Lady Spartans with a fifth-place finish.

In other cross country invitational action last weekend, the Shenendehowa girls team placed third in the championship division at the Green Mountain Lake meet in Pawling. The Plainswomen finished with 60 points, one point behind runner-up Arlington. Queensbury took first place with 45 points.

Lizzie Predmore took the individual title with a time of 18:20.06, three seconds ahead of Queensbury's Brittany Winslow. Hailey Beyer was Shen's next-fastest runner, placing 15th with a time of 20:53.54. Gina Stalica (19th, 21:14.28), Alex Burtnick (22nd, 21:17.49) and Caroline Hampton (23rd, 21:20.07) also finished in the top 25 for the Plainswomen.

The Shen boys team placed fifth at last Saturday's Bowdoin Classic near Poughkeepsie. The Plainsmen finished with 166 points, 48 points behind fourth-place Germantown Friends (N.J.). Christian Brothers Academy of Lincroft, N.J., won the team title with 52 points, three points ahead of runner-up Pembrook.

Ian Dorset led Shen with a 16th-place finish in a time of 17:22.57. Chris Shartrand was 29th overall with a time of 17:47.58, and Ed Cody placed 31st with a time of 17:55.01."

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment