Incumbents hold strong in Nisky, Glenville races

Dems win nearly all bids for county legislature seats in District 3 and 4

— In the Village of Scotia, Republican E. Thomas Neals was able to regain his trustee seat after losing in the 2010 election. Despite the Village Board of Trustees consisting of all Democrats, Neals was appointed to fill a vacancy on the board earlier in the year. Neals garnered an almost 100-vote lead over Democrat candidate Rory Fluman, with Neals holding 682 votes, or 53 percent, and Fluman falling behind at 597 votes, or 47 percent.

County Legislature results

Despite Republicans calling for a more balanced party representation on the Schenectady County Legislature, Democrats gained a seat for even more dominance.

Democrat incumbents in District 4 (representing the Towns of Rotterdam, Duanesburg and Princetown) Anthony Jasenski and Angelo Santabarbara retained their seats with a significant lead against Republican challengers Stanley Marchinkowski and Wade Abbott. Santabarbara came in on top with 6,241 votes, or 33 percent, with Jasenski falling not too far behind at 5,620 votes, or 30 percent. Marchinkowski had 3,490 votes, or 19 percent, and fellow Republican Abbott came in slightly behind at 3,292, or 18 percent.

Similar results for Democrats were realized in District 3 (representing the Towns of Niskayuna and Glenville and the Village of Scotia), which resulted in Democrats gaining a seat.

Minority Leader Robert Farley, R-Glenville, announced before the election cycle he wouldn’t seek reelection, leaving incumbent Republican James Buhrmaster to run with two new Republican candidates.

In the district’s vote for the two open seats, Buhrmaster did retain his seat with 5,576 votes, or 28 percent, but Thomas Constantine nabbed the seat formerly held by Farley by garnering 5,724 votes, or 29 percent. Democrat Cathryn Bern-Smith failed to nab a seat and had 4,178 votes, or 21 percent, and Republican Michael Dieterich also lost and held 4,370 votes, or 22 percent.

Also, in the District 3, in a vacancy race, Democrat Catherine Gatta retained her seat, which she was appointed to after Susan Savage resigned from the legislature. Gatta held 5,986 votes, or 58 percent, to win her bid over Republican Kurt Semon holding 4,267 votes, or 42 percent.

Vote on this Story by clicking on the Icon


Use the comment form below to begin a discussion about this content.

Sign in to comment